2022 Van Zelderen Excellence Award Nominees and Recipient: (Front Row): CEO, Dannelle McDowell; Laura Walker; Award Winner, Heather Booth; Lori Herrick; Tanya Turner and Interim Chief Nursing Officer, Ann Erickson.  (Back Row): Kristi Wilson; Denise Promes; Stacey Biggart; Abby Skoglund; Lori Rasmussen; and Chief Financial Officer, Mark Wall.

Greene County Medical Center recognizes outstanding employees, grants Van Zelderen award

Special to the Jefferson Herald

Greene County Medical Center’s annual recognition awards’ ceremony was held Wednesday, March 22 in the facility’s main lobby.

Radiology tech, Heather Booth was presented with the 2022 Van Zelderen Excellence award. The celebration also honored the 10 team members nominated for the Van Zelderen Excellence award as well as 14 who marked milestone anniversaries.
The Van Zelderen Excellence award is a peer award. Fellow team members make nominations for those who exemplify the Greene County Medical Center PRIDE values of patient-centered care, respect, integrity, dedication and empathy and have been instrumental in enhancing the patient experience.

Booth’s nominator wrote, “I had my first mammogram in 2022, and Heather was my tech. Heather did a phenomenal job of making me feel comfortable and explaining every step of the exam. Heather’s care goes above and beyond just the mammogram itself, she genuinely wants patients to take a proactive role in their health and get the recommended screening. I have heard from several others who had an equally amazing experience during their mammograms with Heather. Her passion and pride in her work shines through every patient encounter. She is an excellent asset for Greene County Medical Center.”

Booth has been a Greene County Medical Center team member for more than 15 years.

Other nominees for the Van Zelderen Excellence award include:
Stacey Biggart, Acute Care
Lori Herrick, Acute Care
Dannelle McDowell, Materials Management
Denise Promes, Information Technology
Lori Rasmussen, Patient Access
Abby Skoglund, Acute Care
Tanya Turner, Ever Greene Ridge
Laura Walker, Care Management
Kristi Wilson, Quality Management

The 14 team members marking milestone work anniversaries include:
Celebrating 5 years of service: Stacey Biggart, Rebecca Consier, Danny Gilbertson, Sarah Hoffman, Becky Oltmann and Kristi Wilson
Celebrating 10 years of service: Amber Vance
Celebrating 15 years of service: Karri Kaufman
Celebrating 20 years of service: Anne Carstens, Jennifer Miller and Tammy Spaulding
Celebrating 25 years of service: Melanie Wahl
Celebrating 40 years of service: Sue Holden
Celebrating 45 years of service: Lori Sayre

Video of the entire ceremony can be found on the Greene County Medical Center Facebook page.

The next award ceremony will take place in the main lobby on May 10 as the medical center will recognize nurses and their support teams with the Partner of Nursing and DAISY Awards.

This event will be open to the public and will also be a Facebook Live event.

Contact Us

Jefferson Bee & Herald
Address: 200 N. Wilson St.
Jefferson, IA 50129

Phone:(515) 386-4161