BRIDGETT ALLEN | HERALD CONTRIBUTOR Greene County senior Nathan Behne (right) looks over toward teammate Broc Stream (11) during a Class 2A, Substate 8-District 15 first round matchup against Manson-Northwest Webster on Feb. 12 at the MNW Gymnasium in Manson. Behne was recently named to the 2024 IBCA Academic All-State team, the first Ram to do so in the last eight years.

Behne named to IBCA’s Academic All-State team



It’s one thing to showcase your talent on the basketball court. It’s another – and the more important – thing to be good on the court and great in the classroom. 

According to an announcement made this past weekend by Chris Nelson, Greene County head boys’ basketball coach, senior Nathan Behne was named to the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association’s Academic All-State team. 

“(Behne) is the first Ram in at least the last eight years to make this team,” Nelson said. “It’s very well deserved.”

In a release from the IBCA, the team was selected by a panel out of a total of 136 applicants. The Northwest Bank Academic All-State Team averaged an ACT composite score of 26.5, a scoring average of 16.9 points per game and a grade point average of 4.0.

The team will be formally announced during halftime of the Iowa High School Athletic Association’s Class 4A State Championship, scheduled for Friday, March 8 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

In his senior campaign on the hardwood, Behne compiled 9.5 points per game and 6.7 points per contest. Over the course of the 2023-2024 season, Behne collected 180 points, 127 rebounds, 49 assists, 37 steals and four blocks.

In his time in a Rams uniform, Behne collected a total of 229 points, 159 rebounds, 60 assists, 42 steals and four blocks.

Featured alongside Behne on the list is Ankeny’s Aurello Aguirre and Nick Vaske of Ankeny Centennial, Jake Benzing of Solon, Samuel Boothe of Central Decatur, Norwalk’s Redek Born and Aiden Harder, Western Dubuque’s Kanyon Bryte, Columbus Catholic’s Leo Christensen and Jack Cooley of Clake, Osceola. 

Colo-Nesco’s Lucas Frohwein, Benton’s Quincy Gilbert, Emiliano Gonzalez of Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Hampton-Dumont-CAL’s Scott Harr, Riverside’s Grady Jeppesen, Jacob Koch of Iowa City West, Gilbert’s Truman Kruckenberg, Owen Larson of Estherville Lincoln Central, Michael Martin of Iowa City Regina, Jesup’s Jack Miller, Des Moines Roosevelt’s Brayden Page, Ty Pflughaupt of North Linn, Wilton’s Landyn Putman, Monticello’s Preston Ries and Josh Ravlin of Underwood were also listed among the Academic All-State team.

Contact Us

Jefferson Bee & Herald
Address: 200 N. Wilson St.
Jefferson, IA 50129

Phone:(515) 386-4161