Greene County's Kale Petersen (with trophy) was named the Class 2A Dan Gable Wrestler of the Year last week at a ceremony in Boone. Petersen produced a perfect, 42-0 record, winning his second straight state title Feb. 18 in Des Moines. He's pictured with Greene County coaches Chris Conner (left), Kirk Davis and Zach Beekman.  PHOTO BY ABBY DAVIS

Greene County’s Kale Petersen named Dan Gable Mr. Wrestler of the Year

Staff Report

The hits keep on coming.

Greene County’s Kale Petersen was named the Class 2A Dan Gable Mr. Wrestler of the Year March 1 at a banquet in Boone presented by Fareway Stores, Inc. and IAwrestle.
Three finalists from each of the three state wrestling classes for the men and three women finalists attended an awards luncheon banquet at the Fareway Conference Center.

Petersen tallied a perfect 42-0 record en route to his second straight state title this winter, maintaining a No. 1 record at 132 pounds for the entirety of the season. The Ram junior ended his career on a 61-match winning streak, never losing as a member of the GCHS wrestling team.

 “The esteem of the Dan Gable Ms. and Mr. Wrestler Awards is reflective of the outstanding talent we have across the state,” said Founder and CEO of IAwrestle Tony Hager. “The selection process continues to be increasingly difficult, and all athletes selected for the top three are most certainly deserving. IAwrestle looks forward to continuing to cover these wrestlers far beyond high school wrestling.”

Fans had the ability to vote once per day for their top wrestler in each category until February 6 for the women and February 20 for the men on Public votes were tallied, and the top voted wrestler received an extra vote towards the IWCOA committee vote.
Petersen was selected in Class 2A over Osage’s Nick Fox and West Burlington Notre Dame’s CJ Walrath.

The two runner-up student athletes in each class received finalist award plaques. A duplicate Wrestler of the Year trophy and duplicate Wrestler of the Year runner-up plaques will be provided to each high school where finalists attend, for permanent placement in the high school trophy case.

The following athletes were also recognized as 2022-2023 recipients:
Ms. Wrestler:
Lilly Luft, Charles City
Molly Allen, Riverside Oakland (finalist)
Naomi Simon, Decorah (finalist)

Mr. Wrestler:
Class 1A:
Gable Porter, Underwood
Max Magayna, Columbus Catholic (finalist)
Garret Rinken, Nashua-Plainfield (finalist)
Class 2A:
Kale Petersen, Greene County
Nick Fox, Osage (finalist)
CJ Walrath, Notre Dame, West Burlington (finalist)
Class 3A:
Ben Kueter, Iowa City High
Gabe Arnold, Iowa City High (finalist)
Ryder Block, Waverly-Shell Rock (finalist)
About IAwrestle is an outlet for fans in Iowa to consume wrestling content. IAwrestle has grown into a bona fide media outlet providing coverage of Iowa’s three major Division I programs, its small college programs, as well as extensive coverage and commentary about the state’s rabid high school wrestling scene. Live streaming events, on-scene reporting, video interviews, and the Potentially Dangerous podcast are key draws to the site. IAwrestle also produces premiere wrestling events and showcases them in some of Iowa’s most iconic wrestling facilities.

Contact Us

Jefferson Bee & Herald
Address: 200 N. Wilson St.
Jefferson, IA 50129

Phone:(515) 386-4161